Hall of Fame Award 2018


The Fiddler’s Green Festival prestigious Hall of Fame Award was hand carved by local artist Jim Sherry. The award is given each year to an individual or group who has made an outstanding contribution to Irish Music and Tradition.

Previous winners include such acts as The Dubliners, The Clancy Brothers, Altan and our very own Sands Family.

Out of stock


HALL OF FAME – Fri 27th July – 8pm – St Bronaghs Club Rooms

The recipient of this highly prestigious award is Na Píobairí Uilleann           

 In acknowledgement of the 50th anniversary of the organisation and its achievement of  UNESCO recognition of Uilleann piping as a unique aspect of world heritage.

Na Píobairí Uilleann was founded in 1968 by pipers determined to halt the decline of their instrument. The success of the project can be judged by the fact that, instead of the 50 pipers who founded NPU, there are now over 6000 players throughout the world.  The iconic sound of the Uilleann pipes is now appreciated globally as is evidenced by UNESCO recognition.

The Hall of Fame evening features a Gala Concert with Gay McKeon, Emmett Gill and young pipers from NPU,  Paddy Glackin,  Robbie Hannan, who both were longtime friends of the late great Liam O’Flynn ,an Honorary President of Na Píobairí Uilleann and  recipient of our Hall of Fame award 25 years ago.  Also on stage for this celebration are Pádraig McGovern, Dave Sheridan and John McCartan.


No flash photography is allowed. Please be respectful during performances. There is no eating in the event.

You will be emailed a ticket which you must bring with you to the event as proof of purchase.


Additional information


No Flash Photography, Silence Phones, Unreserved Seating

You may also like…